Can men and women just be friends?

When I was a young teenager I used to have more guy friends than girl friends. I guess I was never really a girly-girl and so I found the guys more relatable. This has stayed the same through my twenties and thirties. But now something has changed….I have more female friends.

With recent events in mind I was friends with a guy before we decided to go on a date, or whatever it was called. Obviously his actions a week ago, have caused a six month friendship to be ruined, this was not my decision may I add. I would have continued the friendship if he had of been honest with me. It just makes me think – can men and women just be friends? Or once something happens or feelings develop, is that it? Is it doomed? Do you have to choose between the romance and the friendship? I think I am quite open-minded these days and as long as there is honesty and communication then anything can be possible. This guy is unfortunately no longer a friend and no longer in my life. Which is a shame considering we knew so much about each other, especially the darker times. If there is one thing I have learnt from all this, is that it is not me who is the problem – it is him. If he didn’t understand how his actions would make me feel and to lose his friendship through it as well – then he never really cared or knew me at all. 

o-woman-and-man-facebook

Looking at it from another point of view, what happens when your friend (of the opposite sex) embarks on a new relationship? Will the new partner accept this friendship without jealousy and suspicion? Or do you have to sacrifice your friendship for your new romantic relationship. Whatever the score, you are most likely not to see this friend as regular as you were used too, as their focus and priorities have changed. 

I think this is the reason why I have so many girl friends now because after all these years important men in my life have recently decided to let me down. I thankfully have many girl friends whom pick me up when I start to fall and remind me I am not alone. We laugh and joke and give each other advice as friends do. I am looking forward to this new chapter in my life, as because of these girl friends I have felt supported, fought off my demons and feel extremely strong once again!! Thanks to all the ladies in my life xx


                                                                        


Leave a Reply

