‘Men are from mars – women are from venus’

As a women of nearly 34 years old I am still dumbfounded by the opposite sex. When I was around 18 I just thought I was choosing the wrong kind of man because I was immature or that I was seriously unlucky. But 16 years on I am either still making the same silly mistakes or I am still seriously unlucky. There was a fear with women in my generation (maybe other generations too)  that we would not be chosen and we would turn into some crazy cat lady – old and alone. I still have that fear, although it would be with dogs instead of cats!! At least dogs are loyal……


These past couple of days have been difficult for me. I decided to let my guard down with a guy, because for once he treated me with respect and he made me feel special. However that must of all been yet another lie as he unfriended and blocked me on social media without even a reason or explanation. Yesterday I was thinking that it was all my fault, that I had surely done something wrong. I was battling with my demons and the many triggers of my depression from last year. Yesterday was a tough day, mentally and emotionally.

With the help of some excellent friends and family I have come to realise that this is not my fault and all I did was showed that I cared; if that is a problem in this day and age then there is something seriously wrong with the world. I am not a coward and I have been totally honest throughout. I wish I could say the same for him! I don’t even want to know why he dropped me like a hot potato, all I can say is I have had a lucky escape. 

One thought on “‘Men are from mars – women are from venus’

Leave a Reply

